Searcy Arkansas History

In the early nineteenth century, confusion reigned in the United States about the origins of the name "Saracens" and its meaning in Arkansas.

On October 23, 1835, White County was founded as part of Independence, Jackson and Pulaski counties, and Yellville established a regional post office in Marion County in 1838. Arkansas broadly supported White's candidacy for president of the United States and signed the Statehood Declaration the following July. The first Searcy County name was changed to Marion and the favor of the territory was overwhelmingly won. In the early 20th century, Searcey also benefited from railroads from Missouri and North Arkansas.

In 1837, the state legislature designated the area around White Sulphur Springs as a county seat and named it after Richard Searcy. The county was named in honor of the wife of the former president and his wife's husband, and in 1838, after she had chosen a seat for White County, she named the seat after her. In 1839, in recognition of her husband's service as a Supreme Court Justice in Arkansas, she named her district after the town of Searcey, Tennessee.

Searcy was surrounded by the disused Missouri-North Arkansas Railroad, which provided passenger and freight services from 1906 to 1946.

The White County Courthouse, built in 1871, is considered the oldest functioning courthouse in Arkansas. The courthouse stands on a square bordered by Race Arch, Spring and Spruce streets and is the only one of its kind still used for its original purpose. Searcy was rebuilt in the 1930s, as the still standing landmark shows.

The Searcy, AR Micropolitan Statistical Area, which includes White County, is one of the largest metropolitan areas in the United States with a population of about 1.2 million people. It is home to the University of Arkansas and is bordered by the Arkansas River, Arkansas State University and the Mississippi and its tributaries.

In 1850, Merrick Moore, a Quaker from Pennsylvania, surveyed the city's grounds and named a street after him after Philadelphia. President James Monroe appointed him to the Arkansas 4th Supreme Court, and the city took its name. Miller resigned from the U.S. Senate in 1861 to take up a position as a judge in the United States District Court for the Southern District of Alabama. The case was settled out of court in 1864 by a 4-3 vote in favor of Miller, with Miller the plaintiff and Moore the defendant.

At the time of White County's founding, the area that now makes up Searcy was known as White Sulphur Springs. In 1874, about four years later, a Baptist from Memphis, Tennessee, reported that "The Springs of Searcey are worth mentioning.

Before white men entered the country, it was populated by gangs now called Sioux, Cherokee, and Iroquois. While the Kiowa and Comanche tribes shared the land in the southern plains, the Native Americans in the northwest and southeast of the country were limited to the Indian territory of what is now Oklahoma.

The analysis of records shows that 181 of those 115 were born in Tennessee, and the rest in Arkansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee.

Little is known about the 111 to 115 slaves who lived in Arkansas during the Civil War, despite making up a quarter of the state's population. If you are interested in Arkansas history and the genealogy of its inhabitants, whether you are a resident or not, you should consider this. Border towns growing up in America are an in-depth source of history for much of this article, but it depends on Ray Muncy's book Searcy, Arkansas: Frontier Towns Growing, published in the Bicentennial of 1976, if you want to read more.

For more information about the history of Searcy, Arkansas and its border town, see the guide below.

View the rotating formation for an animated map that illustrates the changes in the Arkansas county line. If you are interested in enlisting a county for this project, please contact the Arkansas Department of Natural Resources (ARDNR).

The purpose of the society is to promote family history research, educate individuals, publish articles about Arkansas ancestors, preserve and provide historical, genealogical and biographical sources from Arkansas, and preserve and make available historical and genealogical records from Arkansas. The AHPP is under the authority of the Arkansas Department of Heritage, another agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state's cultural resources. Other agencies include the Arkansas Department of Natural Resources (ARDNR), the Arkansas Historical Society (ARS), the Arts and Templar Heritage Foundation (AHFP) and the Arkansas State Museum (ASM).

The Searcy Board of Public Utilities, which operates under the name "Searcy Water Utilities," is responsible for providing water services to the citizens of Searcey, Arkansas, using the best practical technology. It is under the authority of the Arkansas Department of Natural Resources (ARDNR) to provide wastewater services to all citizens in Searcys of Arkansas by using good practical technologies.

More About Searcy

More About Searcy